Part Five of Your Story

It was a black day, the kind of day that starts most tragic stories, but this isn’t a sob story. This is a love story.

I remember the first night we slept together. Not fucked, just held each other.

It was the night of our first kiss, when I was at his house for a sleepover. The kiss had been awkward, of course, and afterwards we just looked at each other until his mother came to bid us good night. When she finally left and shut the door and turned off the light, I turned to Mike to talk to him more but found him crying. Instantly I was as close to him as I could be considering we were both in loud, crinkly sleeping bags. When he looked up at me with his scared eyes, instinctively I reached out and stroked his cheek. “Mike, what’s wrong?”

He bit his lip, staring at me with fear in his eyes. “Was it a mistake?” he said in the lowest voice possible.

With only a slight bit of hesitation, as I was nervous to see his reaction, I cupped both of his cheeks and planted the most loving kiss I could muster on his lips. I felt and heard him sob and pulled away instantly, only then realizing he had messed his fingers in my hair. He looked absolutely terrified. “I’m sorry,” was all I could manage and his eyes grew wide.

“It was?” He sniffed.

I shook my head slowly. “No, not at all…” I smiled at him but lost it as he continued to cry. “Why are you crying?” If it weren’t for a shaky hand holding onto my hair, I would’ve moved away.

He wiped his eyes quickly, rubbing the back of his hand on his sleeping bag and pulled away a little. The warmth of his body close to mine was gone, and I was close to tears anticipating his response.

“Brad, I…I don’t know.” he started before taking a deep breath in. “I just want you to love me back,” he mumbled.

“Back?” My heart beat faster. He nodded slowly and looked up at me again, this strange yet incredible fire in his eyes that over time I would grow to love.

I swallowed and leaned in, keeping my eyes on him to see his reaction. He closed his eyes, which I took as a good sign, and before I could lean in all the way his shaky hand found the back of my head and pulled me in. Our lips met and moved against each other’s, and it was in that moment that all doubts and fears washed away.

Within a minute the kiss had slowed down and we were just breathing and being close. “Mike,” I breathed and moved closer, running my hand down to rest on his neck. “Mike…I love you.”

“I love you too,” he said quickly and pulled me to him so our chests were touching. He leaned back and then I was on top of him, the position making me blush hard. He had the same reaction, according to the deep red forming on his cheeks. I could feel him melt under me and in turn my insides turned to mush.

“What are we doing?” I asked as I stared in his eyes, getting lost in them.

His eyes returned to their fear state and I stroked his cheek so he’d know I wasn’t freaking out. “I don’t know but it’s good.”

I stayed silent for a moment. It was so simple, really. Loving him. So simple to just be close to him, look at him, kiss him. In hindsight its simplicity should’ve thrown me off but in that moment everything was completely perfect.

“Good,” I repeated and kissed him again softly, just once, and as I pulled away his eyes were still closed.

“Sleepy,” he mumbled and wrapped his arms loosely around me, smiling quietly. I nodded and pulled away a bit, only to unzip our sleeping bags so they seemed like one. He watched me intently, obviously alarmed that I had pulled away, but when I smiled at him he softened again.

I wrapped my arms around him and he rested his head on my chest, and the next thing I knew I was waking up to a bird chirping. I looked down to find he was still asleep and I smiled, feeling in my heart that I’d never want to be anywhere else than in his arms.

Leave a Reply

